top of page
  • Writer's pictureDonavon Houston

Animation Reflection

I'm proud of the way my animation turned out. I have got to say that I'm surprised how little critique it got. Not to say I expected to get grilled by Disney Animation studio's rubric, But it was nice that some things that I thought were mistakes flew under the radar as just another frame in the short video. I can say that the time I put into it paid off even though I had to detach from my original brainstorm with the timing of the video. I found out later that we could've made it longer but to be completely honest I don't have a lot of the skill required to tell a compelling 10-minute story, animate it, and provide sound effects just yet so 4 minutes is fine. I do wish that I spent a little longer figuring out how long it would take to say each line and give the character's a little more breathing room to speak, but I also enjoyed cutting myself off many times so they played into each other well. It was fun repurposing environments to get what I wanted without necessarily requiring all the technical skill in drawing everything seen. My scriptwriting could have been stronger also. I had a couple of points I wanted to touch on or incorporate but I wanted to turn in a complete project by critique. I wanted Satan to be a big Adobe fan, had a separate outfit for him, and possibly go on a tour of the offices but for what it came out to be I don't mind that content being cut so it the video doesn't overstay its welcome. I honestly like that it didn't feel as long as it did when going frame by frame. I also enjoyed that the art styles were picked up on by my professor. Pointing out how animation got smoother in hell, and the backgrounds contributed to the work well, while also contrasting Heaven as a bunch of fun you can't see and no one likes you. An exaggeration of course, as I have no real horse in religion, I feel like hell makes more sense. Being specific with how many circles it has and who's all there, compared to heaven which is just a mesh of whatever you want. Religious commentary aside, I'm happy to finally be finished with my work and it actually turn out in a way that both I and my audience enjoy it the same.










9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page