top of page
  • Writer's pictureDonavon Houston

Web Work History Blog


I think the creation of the word net in itself is interesting. As well as ironic. Vuk Cosic opened up a ruined email of gibberish and was still able to find value in it through 3 letters and a period. I think that speaks a lot to digital art as well as physical art in how all that matters is what you take from it.

To think of the internet as having its own space. As to say people were able to have their own websites about themselves, their interests, or creations and they could still realistically be viewed by someone surfing the web. I feel like if I were to have my blog on the internet during this time the readership I'd garner would be multitudes above what it is now, not to compliment myself but instead because of how small the internet was for personal projects. There are too many things to stumble in between my site and another compared to the "space" on the internet before.

The idea of the internet serving as a medium for human connection has interested me. In reference to Heath Bunting's list of phone booths to call on their website. It fosters that connectivity from a digital side and connects it to the physical world. The person picking up the phone has received an invitation of sorts to interact in a non-physical setting. Which is something the internet would, later on, become a tool for on a regular basis.

I enjoy Paul Garrin's idea of wanting to break down the control that businesses could have on what could be called the world's largest passion project. Though it says he doesn't care about the art the pushing of corporations from culture is one of the pillars of art in my opinion.

Just have to say ®™ark is a badass name.







5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page